Archbishop meets aggrieved parishioners of Sacred Heart Church, Andheri (E);

Subsequent to intervention from SILENT VOICE, H. E. Cardinal Oswald Gracias, Archbishop of Bombay granted audience to aggrieved parishioners of Sacred Heard Church, Andheri (E), and listen to their woes.

https://silentmaj.wordpress.com/2014/06/23/in-the-news-for-wrong-reasons-sacred-heart-church-andheri-e-follow-up/

https://silentmaj.wordpress.com/2014/05/24/in-the-news-for-wrong-reasons-sacred-heart-church-andheri-e/

What is the outcome of this meeting, only the participants will know. However, Memorandum submitted by these parishioners to Archbishop should give an idea of their expectations….

GREG

 

 CBCI Meet.. Cardinal

 

 

Dear Cardinal Oswald Gracias

 

We were awed by your presence and felt the peace within us, with you, in our midst.  We will always keep you in prayer especially with regard to your health.

Thank you once again Your Eminence for sparing your precious time despite your busy schedule and giving us a listening ear.

Yes, Your Eminence, just as you said  “I know it is hurt” yes we are deeply hurt and so appraised you of the following issues.

–               The attitude and arrogance of the two newly ordained priests towards the youth and their Animators, making unwarranted remarks from the Pulpit at mass.

–               How some of the youth were threatened to join the NYG

–                The smooth running of 2 Youth Movement (Working and College going) one of the best in the Archdiocese, abruptly disbanded by the 2 newly ordained priest backed by the PYAT.

–               How PYAT inconvenienced parishioners by rescheduling Saturday (obligatory Sunday) mass to suit the timings for the youth events which was never allowed by any of the earlier Parish Priests

–               Approached the Provincial and were told being a parish matter the same to be addressed to the Archdiocese.

–               How the PPC election for the executive body was conducted – by a newly ordained priest instead of the Returning Officer or outgoing V.P. by show of hands where most cells and associations had a secret ballot.

–               How the present V.P. Mr. Michael Rodrigues lured the newly elected PPC members at the first meeting with his Power Point Presentation to win votes besides being a new resident to the Parish ruffled feathers in the parish and trampled on people.

–               How on 25th Oct.2013 an emergency meeting was called by the Exec. Com and V.P. Mr. Michael Rodrigues without agenda and minutes, where  a 3 term PPC Member Mr. Baptist Fernando was humiliated and not allowed to speak by the V.P. to defend himself to the allegations made against him and us

–               BCC Animators of a 3 term PPC Member, Mr. Baptist Fernando wrote and signed letters against him on Parish Priest promptings

–               Letters written against Jessie Abraham by Catholic Sabha Members.

–               Letters written against Anita D’Sa by 2 youth and a parishioner

–               How they manipulated and got people to write against us only during this period i.e. August to October.

 –               How they tried to throw us off balance in whatever cell or association we were attached to.

 –               How the CCO &PP stopped activities in the Parish (Yoga/cafeteria/clothes stall) which was running smoothly for a long time

 –               How the minutes of the 30th November 2013, meeting has not reached us till date where the Parish Priest in his mail very strongly said the minutes will be signed by all present and copies will be sent to the Dean, Provincial and Bishop and PP has made his exit.

 –               How the moderator Mrs. Anella Quadros PPC Secretary brought for our approval, Fr. Baptist Pais, manipulated minutes on 20th January 2014,

Finally Your Eminence we would be very pleased and grateful to resolve and clarify the above and also have the following issues cleared:Closure on the matter as soon as possible Withdrawal of letters written against us and apologies rendered.

Clearance/Apologies from the PPC Exec. Com. and V.P. Mr Michael  Rodrigues for reading out the letters and maligning our names in our absence.

–            Minutes of the 30th November 2013 meeting with signatures of all present.

Since we could not cover all our issues due to lack of time, hence submitted a memorandum for your perusal and action.  Your Eminence please, please, I would appreciate if these issues are addressed as soon as possible.

Your Eminence like I said, it was never our intention for this matter to reach this level, tried to solve it within the Parish but it did not materialize so sought help from the Dean, Provincial and not knowing how to get this to your attention, approached Mr. Greg Pereira of Silent Voice to help  us out.

Personally I wish this meeting was under different circumstances as I would surely enjoy spending some time with you to experience the peace, calm and serenity you exuberate . I will always cherish and remember you in my prayer.

Thank you and God Bless you

I remain faithful  to you in Christ Jesus

Anita D’Sa

 

 

On Thursday, June 19, 2014 6:04 AM, havilah.z.d´sa wrote:

 

Dear Fr. K.T. Emmanuel,

Good evening father.  I/We are very pleased and feel blessed that His Eminence Oswald Cardinal

Gracias has given us his precious time to meet us on Tuesday 24th June at 11.30 am.  As per our         letter of 7th May 2014, where 11  parishioners are mentioned,   of which 7 of us will be attending

this meeting.  The names are as follows:  Conrad D’Sa, Anita D’sa, Jessie Abraham, Jayesh George,

Baptist Fernando, Jude Zaccheus and Oliver D’Souza.

Thank you & God bless

Anita

 

On Thursday, June 19, 2014 4:04 AM, Archbishop Bombay <diocesebombay@gmail.com> wrote:

 

Dear Anita,

His Eminence Oswald Cardinal Gracias has given you appointment on 24
June 2014 (Tuesday) at 11.30 a.m.

Please confirm

Fr Emmanuel K.T.

On 5/31/14, havilah.z.d´sa  wrote:
> Most Rev. H. E. Cardinal Oswald Gracious,
> Archbishop
> Archdiocese of Mumbai
>
> Your Eminence
> This is Anita D,Sa, parishioner of Sacred Heart Parish for the last 26
> years. Greg Pereira, of Silent Voice, sent a letter to you  on 7th May 2014,
> about our grievances but we have had no response from your end I would
> appreciate if Your Lordship could give us an audience and hear us out as we
> have been maligned in the Parish and if possible before Fr. Baptish Pais the
> current Parish Priest is transferred.  The new Parish Priest Fr. Lawrence
> Correa is being inducted on 15th June 2014.  I do hope you could spare some
> of your precious time  and hope to hear from you soon.
> Thank you & God Bless you
> I remain yours always in Lord Jesus
> Anita D’Sa

3 Comments

  1. dmelloalex said,

    July 2, 2014 at 2:17 pm

    dear Anita, I am so much pained to see your begging nature in the above letter. The Church belongs to all including the Cardinal. Being a leader of the community, since he is busy in Rome & due to health problems he should delegate the job to someone else. Things cannot go on like this. Nothing get solved automatically as many of us think. My question is: why Cardinal only has to intervene in all the matters when there are many seniors next to him? Why the leadership is so weak and people cannot expect justice in the early stages of any problem? Are we working like courts where it takes years for the case to come up? If it is so how we can look for leadership within the Church? There are many instances where an aggrieved person even do not get an audience at AD. One has to question such things at his//her own peril. You are declared as a black spot within the community.? If we want to build a community of Christ, this must change and every one should be treated at par.

    Like

  2. hapyhilda said,

    July 7, 2014 at 2:36 pm

    Well said Mr. dmelloalex

    Like

  3. bapuvari97 said,

    August 5, 2014 at 10:04 am

    From:
    “baptist fernando” | Add to Address book |This is spam
    To: ,
    Subject: Regarding Letter of SCC Animators
    Date: Mon, 21 Jul 2014 20:05:11 IST
    Cc: ,,
    To
    The Acting Parish Priest/Sp. Dir. Comm. 4
    Sacred Heart,
    Andheri (E)
    MUMBAI.
    Dear Fr. Innocent/Fr. Wilson,
    I wish to express my thanks to you both, for coming on 17th July 2014 for the SCC monthly meeting held at my residence, and taking control of the meeting in order to try to solve the problems.
    This is in regard to my conversation with you when at the PPC meeting held on 19th June 2014, when during the break, you approached me and told me that I have to look for another SSC coordinator as the present coordinator Mrs Celine Rudolf Pinto, has submitted her letter of resignation to
    Fr. Baptist Pais ex Parish Priest (first time) and my immediate statement to you was how come father? There are so many problems in the community and clarifications required, she has to come for the meeting, face the animators and tell them of her intentions. I re-confirmed with you regarding Mrs. Celine Pinto’s resignation letter on two occasions i.e. 20th June & 23rd June, and also the problems I am facing with the Animators and you asked me to forgive and forget so my reply was – forgive & forget – Is it only for Mr. Baptist Fernando !! I, along with Mr. Marcus Fernandes, met you Fr. Wilson
    and was informed that Celine Pinto’s letter was not a resignation letter but a leave letter and since I was confused, Fr. Wilson called you Fr. Innocent to clarify the issue and you admitted that it was a mistake on your part that it was not a resignation letter but a leave letter although on three
    occasions prior to this you confirmed that it was a resignation letter. Besides, I fail to understand what is a leave letter. Haven’t heard of such things during my whole tenure as scc member. Yes a coordinater can excuse Himself/Herself from attending a SCC meeting. Therefore please clarify this matter related to leave letter. I was called for a meeting on 16th July, by you Fr. Wilson, once again to talk about the letter written against me by my Animators. You asked for a solution and my answer was to give me a copy of the letter or ask the animators to clarify or give an apology letter . You said that I/we have our
    limitations and what the then Parish Priest has filed we cannot take out. I certainly would like to know about your limitations. And do you say that you have no access to the files, which have been handed over to you by Fr. Baptist? At the SCC meeting on 17th July ’14, you introduced words like forgive
    & forget and reconciliation yet; what Fr. Baptist did on 30th November, 2013, at the so called
    reconciliation meeting of which we are yet to receive the minutes and he left without addressing the matter, I ask you too, like I did Fr. Innocent, forgive & forget, is it only for Mr. Baptist Fernando, in a way, you, in my opinion gave them ideas and supported their cause. Yes these are the same Animators who wrote against me and handed the letter to Fr. Baptist, which was read out on 25th Oct.2013, at the PPC Emergency Meeting, at which I was present and humiliated, without
    having given a chance to defend myself against the allegations. I have yet to receive a copy of the letter written against me, of which I have been asking on many occasion. All through our meeting on 16th July, we spoke so extensively about the letter written against me and the humiliation I suffered on that account and you acknowledged the fact. And now to my surprise you have taken a 360
    degree turn to inform me that the letter written was not against me instead it was just the minutes, to which Mr. Arun D’Souza raised the question that if the letter given to Fr. Baptist was the minutes of the meeting, then who wrote the letter that was read out by Mr. Anil D’Souza at the PPC meeting, against me, to which no reply was given. Okay if you say, it was the minutes letter why were all the Animators asked to sign it and moreover Mr. Marcus Fernandes refused to sign the letter, because he knew of the
    contents. So, was I imagining what was read out about me by Anil D’Souza at the Emergency PPC meeting? Furthermore, I want to state that I am in receipt of emails from VP Michael Rodrigues/Exec. Comm. summoning me for a meeting with my animators and also from Rayna D’Souza Exec. Comm, seconding his summons. The VP Michael Rodrigues, even threatened telephonically to conduct the meeting even in my absence as I had refused to go for the meeting without an agenda and the copy of the allegation against me which I have stated in my email to Michael Rodrigues. This brings us
    to the question of whether it is minutes or perpetrated accusation letter. If it is only the minutes why did the VP Michael Rodrigues/Rayna D’Souza/Exec. Comm. send the summons, so it must have been something grave.(maybe the allegation letter) Then how come the denial now ? As things stand it is as though a dagger has been driven into me with all the accusations/humiliation and you are asking me to forgive & forget thus pouring water over the dagger but leaving it yet embedded. It has been observed, in our parish, that parishioners are encouraged to write against each other, and the same is being aintained in files, functioning in corporate style. One wonders whether this is Office, Court or Church. Inspite of all the above, I am willing to reconcile and forgive, but my plea to receive a copy of the letter written against me or an apology from them still stands. I will continue to serve my community and parish which I have done for 3 terms to the best of my ability. Take an example from Pope Francis who at the Vatican has cleared/cleaned the house and apologized for the wrong doings of his flock and predecessors. A true disciple of Christ, If you could follow 1/8th of the pope’s example all of us will follow suit although the previous Parish Priest has created this mess and quietly exited, we can bring this parish to its glorious days once again.
    Thanking you
    Baptist Fernando
    PPC Leader – Community No.4

    Like


