VM : 16/2012 : PARISHIONER OF OLGC, SION, REACT TO FR. LESLIE D’CUNHA’S UNETHICAL TRANSFER

 

Silent Voice

 

A/7  Rodrigues Compound, Malwani Village, Malad (W), Mumbai, 400095.   Contact No. 98707 19628

 

E mail:    silentvoice58@gmail.com

 

*******************************************************************************************************

 

Voicemail

 

VM: 16/2012

 

13th, August, 2012

 

 

 

 

 OUR LADY OF GOOD COUNSEL  CHURCH  SION

 

 

 

Hello Friends,

 

Parishioners of OUR LADY OF GOOD COUNSEL CHURCH, SION; are agitated over Church authority’s divisive politics and preferential favours to elite section parishioners. We had brought this matter into public domain through following Voicemails.

 

https://silentmaj.wordpress.com/2012/07/16/vm-0132012-archbishop-meets-parishioners-of-our-lady-of-good-counsel-church-sion/

 

https://silentmaj.wordpress.com/2012/07/17/vm-0132012-contd-the-voiceless-get-voice-come-out-in-support-of-fr-leslie-dcunha/

 

The Church authorities have revoked the decision taken by the former Parish Priest Fr. Leslie D’cunha. It is obvious from the turn of events that he was penalized for undoing the wrong practice, which has been going on for years. The following letters, including the one posted on Face Book, by agitated parishioner, at following link, describe the agony of the CHURCH GOING CATHOLICS, over the preferential treatment given to HOME SITTING CATHOLICS.

 

http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?fbid=420456614657377&set=o.171751746206751&type=1&theater

 

Silent Voice not subscribe to every word by the individual Parishioners, but support their agitation, against HIGH HANDED ATTITUDE OF CHURCH AUTHORITIES.

 

GREG

 

CATHOLICS FOR TRUTH TRANSPARENCY AND WEEDING OF

 

CORRUPT PRACTICES AT PARISH LEVEL.

 

 

 

Hilda Rego, the Parishioner of OLGC, Sion; responds to her critic.

 

Dear Nisha and the rest,

 

Please try to understand the difference between FORGIVING AND PUTTING UP WITH THE WRONG. Our Lord forgave Sadducees and Pharisees but He condemned the wrong they did. Forget about Jesus. Let’s talk about you. You love me, forgive me but you condemned the wrong I have done and I really appreciate that. Why you did not say, no matter what Hilda does, I will forgive her. WHY THERE ARE LAWS AND COURTS AND JUDGES AND JUDICIARY? WHY WE DON’T SAY “JUDGE NOT AND YOU WILL NOT BE JUDGED. LET HIM WHO HAS NOT SINNED, CAST THE FIRST STONE.” Anger has overpowered me and I have stooped so low on account of that because I have seen a JUST PERSON SUFFER, WHO NEVER THOUGHT ABOUT HIMSELF BUT WAS ALWAYS INTERESTED IN THE WELFARE OF THE PARISH AND THE PARISHONERS. I love the provincial and his team but I condemn the wrong they have done.

 

You say that I have overstepped the limit by writing that mail. You know me to some extent. I don’t want to say anything about myself. People have told me that I always speak from my heart, that I am straight forward, outspoken and a honest and sincere person. I really do not know what cunningness and diplomacy mean. Have you ever thought what must have caused me to write such a nasty mail? You have not experienced the sorrow we have experienced. FIRST HAND EXPERIENCE IS ALWAYS DIFFERENT. IF YOU HAD TO UNDERGO WHAT THAT PRIEST AND WE HAVE UNDERGONE I AM SURE YOU TOO WOULD HAVE REACTED IN A SIMILAR MANNER. After his transfer was made known I met the parish priest only once, during the St. Anthony’s Novenas on the school play ground. I did not utter a word. I could clearly see the agony on his face. Sources close to him say that HE IS COMPLETELY DE-MORALISED AND FEELS THAT HE WAS LIFTED VERY HIGH AND THROWN DOWN.

 

 IT IS THOSE RELIGIOUS LEADERS, WHO HAVE OVERSTEPPED THE LIMIT AND FORCED US TO REACT IN THIS MANNER. THE DAY YOU REALISE THE CORRUPTION AND POLITICS PLAYED BY THE CHURCH LEADERS YOU WILL BE FILLED WITH DISGUST FOR THEM.

 

Now, I want to tell you very clearly that I have no malicious intent. The reasons for writing those mails to the provincial were, the provincial and his team insulted, humiliated and belittled our parish priest and caused him great pain by doing the following,

 

1) They informed him of his transfer just fifteen days before.

 

2) They listened to the parishioners who complained against the parish priest but they did not inform the parish priest about the complaints and give him a chance to say something in his defense.

 

3) They cared for the feelings and sentiments of the parishioners who complained against the parish priest but they never cared about the sentiments, feelings respect and dignity of the parish priest WHO HAD LEFTHIS HOME AND LOVED ONES TO SERVE GOD AND HIS PEOPLE.

 

I too wanted to insult, humiliate and belittle them and cause them great pain but I noticed that they are a thick-skinned and stiff necked people as God tells Moses regarding the Israelites in the Old Testament. How can we have any regard and respect for them? These same priest go up to the alter and preach. What they themselves do not follow, how can they expect us to follow? HYPOCRITES! We have heard the influential of our parish say, “If the parish priest had to listen to us, he would not have got transferred.”How they degrade the priest? It means that the priests will be safe in their positions ONLY IF THEY LISTEN TO THE INFLUENTIAL. Twelve years back I had been to a priest for counseling. I told him how my uncle who is very wealthy, influential, and powerful had caused me great pain and I expressed a desire to confront him. So the priest immediately said, “If your uncle is so wealthy, so influential, and so powerful then it is my advice that you do not confront him.” I did not heed his advice that is a different thing. AFTER WHAT HAPPENED IN OUR PARISH, NOW I REALLY CONNECT, WHAT THAT PRIEST HAD SAID TO THE PRESENT SITUATION. IN OUR PARISH TOO, THE PRIEST REFUSED TO BOW DOWN TO THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF THE INFLUENTIAL. IN FACT HE WAS WARNED BY A FELLOW PRIEST, THAT HE WILL BE TRANSFERRED IF HE DID NOT COMPROMISE. RELIGIOUS TEACH US TO FEAR GOD BUT THEY THEMSELVES FEAR THE INFLUENTIAL. HOW FUNNY!

 

In your mail you stated that I HAVE PASSED JUDGEMENT ON A SECTION OF PEOPLE WHO HAVE RENOUNCED THE WORLD IN ORDER TO FOLLOW THE TEACHINGS OF CHRIST. WHY, NISHA, I HAVE HEARD THAT THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF PRIESTS AND NUNS WHO HAVE BECOME THE VICTIMS OF INJUSTICE IN THE HANDS OF RELIFIOUS LEADERS AND SUFFER SILENTLY, HAVE THEY NOT RENOUNCED THE WORLD TO FOLLOW THE TEACHINGS OF CHRIST?

 

Tell me, today, how many priest consider priesthood as an institution and a sacrament? May be, ten out of hundred? When we go to our village people there say that their parish priest associates and   interacts only with the rich. Recently I had been to Bangalore to attend my grandma’s funeral. Without invitation, only by seeing the news in the paper, THIRTEEN PRIEST AND THE BISHOP WERE PRESENT. I HEARD MY UNCLE SAY,”I AM HAPPY, SO MANY PRIEST ARE PRESENT FOR MY MOM’S FUNERAL. BUT THESE PRIESTS DO NOT CARE FOR THE POOR.” RECENTLY MY SISTER HAD COME DOWN FROM LONDON. SHE HANDED OVER SOME MONEY TO ME TO BE GIVEN TO THE POOR. I WAS SHOCKED WHEN SHE SAID,”MY FRIENDS AND I HAVE STOPPED GIVING MONEY TO THE PRIESTS TO BE GIVEN TO THE POOR BECAUSE IT NEVER REALLY REACHES THEM. NOW WE DIRECTLY GIVE THE AMOUNT TO THE POOR.” IT WAS ONLY AFTER THIS THAT I TOLD HER WHAT HAPPENED IN OUR PARISH.

 

TODAY THE RELIGIOUS HAVE BECOME VERY MATERIALISTIC. If it continues like this, soon a time will come when the laity will overthrow the religious and they themselves will be responsible for that. TODAY’S LAITY IS DIFFERENT. THEY THINK, REASON, ARE AWARE, AND QUESTION.

 

I AM OPEN TO CRITICISM. YOU CAN GIVE YOUR SUGGESTIONS, ADVICE BUT ULTIMATELY I WILL DO WHAT MY INNER VOICE AND CONSCIENCE TELLS ME. I NEED TO BE TRUE TO MY SELF. IN AN ATTEMPT TO PLEASE OTHERS I DO NOT WANT TO LOSE MY INDIVIDUALITY AND UNIQUENESS. I TOO REALLY FEEL VERY BAD BECAUSE I TOO AM DOING THE SAME THING TALKING ILL ABOUT THE PRIEST BUT WHAT I HAVE SPOKEN IS TRUE. I HOPE HENCEFORTH, AT LEAST THEY WILL REALIZE WHAT THEY ARE DOING AND WHAT IMPACT IT HAS ON THE LAITY WHO ALWAYS LOOK UP TO THEM AND STOP DOING INJUSTICE AND ALL OTHER EVIL THINGS AS THEY ARE THE SHEPHERDS WHO HAVE TO LEAD GOD’S FLOCK.

 

HILDA REGO

 

A Parishioner’s criticism of Hilda Rego

 

Dear Hilda:

 

You have overstepped the line with this email. Please remember that priesthood is an institution and a sacrament and the failings of individual cannot be generalized as covering all clergy or religious. In sending this contemptuous email you have decided to pass judgment on a section of human beings who have renounced the world to follow the teachings of Jesus. You know priests personally – are they all corrupt?

 

I have read all the past emails you sent out and while it has given me a good idea of the problem faced by your parish and the honorable intentions that you and the others with you have, this email has shown me that there is malicious intent among you. You know the power of the written word and the potential of e-communication and this email is certainly disruptive. I object to it and do not wish to receive any further such communication.

 

Remembering the words “judge not and you shall not be judged” and “he who is without sin may cast the first stone”, I pray that you may find it in your heart to forgive those who have hurt you and see the bigger picture.

 

Remember that

 

(1)  The Church is bigger than a person

 

(2)  Everyone will have to answer to God who is the ultimate judge

 

(3)  Good will triumph over evil eventually

 

God Bless You

 

Nisha

 

Hilda Rego’s Reaction to Church Authorities treatment to Fr. Leslie D’cunha.

 

To all the Christian youth,

 

 

 

GOOD NEWS!        GOOD NEWS!      GOOD NEWS!

 

         SPECIAL OFFER

 

No job? No salary? Frustrated with competitive exams? Here is a special offer. Become a religious. What are you thinking? If you become a religious you cannot have the fun you have in the outside world? You can have even greater fun than that. It is as simple as this. TAKE THE VOW OF CELIBACY AND AT THE SAME TIME BE A WOMANIZER. NO ONE WILL EVER OPEN THE MOUTH. DON’T YOU KNOW, IT IS A SIN TO SPEAK AGAINST THE RELIGIOUS NO MATTER WHAT BLUNDER THEY COMMIT? WE HAVE TWO SAMPLES IN OUR PARISH. FROM THE YOUNGEST TO THE OLDEST EVERY TOM, DICK, HARRY KNOWS ABOUT IT. THE WORST THING IS THAT WE HAVE OUR SCHOOL AND THE PARISH IN THE SAME CAMPUS. SO, NOT ONLY THE PARISHONERS ARE AWARE BUT ALSO ALL PARENTS FROM DIFFERENT FAITHS, APPROXIMATELY AROUND 6,000 OF THEM ARE AWARE OF WHAT IS GOING ON AND THEY ARE PRESSURIZING US TO MAKE IT KNOWN TO THE HIGHER AUTHORITY OF THE CHURCH FOR THE PAST SEVERAL YEARS. I THINK NOW THE TIME HAS COME. YOU CAN EVEN BE A DRUNKARD, MAKE A LOT OF MONEY.

 

DO YOU FEAR YOU WILL BE TRANSFERRED OR DISMISSED? YOU WILL BE SURPRISED TO KNOW, BUT YOU WILL BE PROMOTED AS SUPERIORS, PROVINCIALS,CARDINALS AND WHO KNOWS IF YOU ARE LUCKY YOU MAY EVEN END UP BEING A POPE SOME DAY.

 

BUT BEWARE! NEVER STAND FOR WHAT IS RIGHT AND TRUTH. IF YOU DO SO IMMEDIATELY YOU WILL BE TRANSFERRED OR MAY EVEN BE DISMISSED. HAVE COMFORTABLE AND CAREFREE LIFE. MOST OF THE FUNDS COME FROM THE LAITY. EVEN IF THEY GO HUNGRY, THEY WILL SEE TO IT THAT YOU ARE NOT STARVED.

 

HILDA REGO

 

 

 

AR0788

 (Photo credit: The Universe Catholic Archives)

 

 

 

Blog :  http://www.silentmaj.wordpress.com